Rebinding done by Spiralverse

Have You Ever Seen a Flower? Spiral-Bound | May 4, 2021

Shawn Harris (Illustrated by)

★★★☆☆+ from 1,001 to 10,000 ratings

$24.67 - Free Shipping
A 2022 Caldecott Honor Book

Have You Ever Seen a Flower? is a beautiful exploration of perception, the environment, and humanity.

This enchanting picture book explores the relationship between childhood and nature. In this simple yet profound story, one child experiences a flower with all five senses—from its color to its fragrance to the entire universe it evokes—revealing how a single flower can expand one's perspective in incredible ways.

CELEBRATION OF NATURE: Full of bright, stunning illustrations, Have You Ever Seen a Flower? reminds readers of all ages to appreciate the beauty of the world.

INCREDIBLE TALENT: Have You Ever Seen a Flower? is the authorial debut of award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris. His previous illustrated books have garnered multiple awards and starred reviews, including Her Right Foot and What Can a Citizen Do (both by Dave Eggers), Everyone’s Awake by Colin Meloy, and A Polar Bear in the Snow by Mac Barnett.

CRITICS LOVE IT: This award-winning book has received praise from numerous esteemed publications. Highlights include:
 
"[A] stunning tour de force."—The New York Times

"The pictures have a rich visual texture, vibrant color, and a naive style, which together imply a child as ostensible artist. This effect is well aligned with the playfully inquisitive text, with rhythm and repetition akin to books by Margaret Wise Brown and Ruth Krauss. . . . Have you ever seen a book quite like this? Not likely."—The Horn Book Magazine

 

Perfect for:
  • Parents and caregivers seeking a read-aloud with thought-provoking questions
  • Nature lovers
  • Birthday, baby shower, or seasonal gift
  • Fans of The Little Prince, The Giving Tree, Not a Box, and The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Original Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 48 pages
ISBN-10: 1452182701
Item Weight: 1.97 lbs
Dimensions: 10.0 x 0.6 x 11.5 inches
Customer Reviews: 3 out of 5 stars 1,001 to 10,000 ratings

“'Have you ever seen a flower?’ a voice asks, then presses further: ‘I mean really...// seen a flower?’. . . The persistent questioning is matched by the visual intensity of the spreads, colored-pencil drawings bursting with energy, angular shapes in rainbow hues that are bounded by crisp-edged negative space. . . . With assurance and passion in his solo debut, Harris (A Polar Bear in the Snow) connects readers to the stirrings of life in all its forms.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

Shawn Harris is an artist and musician who lives and works in Half Moon Bay, California. His first picture book, Her Right Foot, by Dave Eggers, was the recipient of seven starred reviews. He is also the illustrator of Dave Eggers's What Can a Citizen Do? and Colin Meloy's Everyone's Awake. This is his authorial debut.